Event FAQ

This page is for the clarification of any questions for any Heralds of War Age of Sigmar Event. Revised 7 January 2017

Does Neferata’s Dark Mist spell allow Crypt Shields and Blood Shields to add 1 to the save roll as if the attack has no Rend?
Yes.

Does Neferata’s Mortarch of Blood ability, Vlad’s Curse Soul spell, Mutalith’s Aura of Mutation ability (and other abilities that “transform” models into other models) require summoning points to place the new model?
Yes.

While the Wight King from Vlad’s Curse Soul spell is only a small model, a Mutalith can create up to 6 Chaos Spawn in multiple hero phases. Because they are very similar abilities with large differences in the end result, it would be unfair/clumsy to allow just certain ones and not others.

Does the Ring of Immortality require reinforcement points to bring the model back?
Yes. As per the most recent FAQ.

Can you merge two units of zombies using their Shambling Horde ability, even if it would bring them above the starting size of either unit?
Yes, as long as the resulting new unit does not exceed 60 models.

Can I use a Lord-Celestant on Stardrake for a formation that needs a Lord-Celestant as it has the Lord-Celestant Keyword?
No, as per the most recent Official Games Workshop FAQ.

Is battle brew a once-per-battle, or can I drink it every turn?
Every turn. The artefact rules do not say “once per battle” as other artefacts do.

If I’m taking a summoning list, do I need to provide a list of my possible summonable units to the TO and my opponents?
Yes

The State Troop Detachment warscroll battalion from The Empire compendium requires State Troop units. Can I use this battalion with Freeguild instead or can I take the old State Troops using the Freeguild points?
No. You can not us battalions unless you meet the requirements with currently pointed models. As per the most recent GW FAQ

Do you need reinforcement points to use scenery that summons models, such as Arcane Ruins?
Yes

Do any of the bonus movement abilities from the battalions allow you to move between woods using the navigate Realmroots battle trait?
No. As per the most recent FAQ

If a Frostlord on Stonehorn (or Huskard on Stonehorn, or Stonehorn Beastriders) retreat, must you still charge with Earth-shattering Charge?
No, as it only provides a specific exception for running.

Does Vlad’s Ring, Skarr Bloodwrath’s The Slaughterborn, and the Flamespyre Phoenix’s Phoenix Reborn ability require reinforcement points to use?
No, however a model can return to life only once per game.

I’m playing an army that has lots of attacks or shots, can I use a dice rolling app?
No dice rolling apps are allowed. It’s a dice game after all! If you are playing an army that involves lots of dice rolling, it’s your responsibility to ensure you can play the army within the time limit and in a way that gives your opponent a good game.